DIY, Hot Items. Cool Prices., How to Wear It
Leave a Comment

The Look For Less: Reinventing A Summer Staple

Greetings lovely readers of Inexpensive Chic! The blazing-hot days of summer are coming to an end, and are slowly being replaced with those perfect chilly fall days we all look forward to.

DSC_8537

Even though the temperature is dropping, I am not ready to say goodbye to my favorite summer staple. I purchased this little white dress from Clothes Mentor for $14, and it was worth every last penny. The slightly wrinkled linen is casual and feminine. The fabric is light and breathable and not too transparent.

Determined to work this sweet little dress into my chilly-weather wardrobe, I decided to create three looks demonstrating how a white tank dress can be fab for fall. As usual, I stuck to my penny pincher ways when shopping for these three looks!

IE_Inspiration_Post3

For my first look, I was inspired by a street style ensemble that included an oversized menswear-inspired cardigan and a white shirt dress. My similar patchwork cardigan was the find of a lifetime. I scored this one-of-a-kind piece from a yard sale in Northside for only $8! It is by a Cincinnati-based designer named Jennifer Sult, and it is by far one of my favorite pieces. My cardigan is a mix of wool, silk and sweatshirt material and it added a serious dose of funk to my little white dress.

DSC_8591

DSC_8552

I added some lacey knee-high socks from Urban’s clearance section and a pair of black rubber ankle boots to this look for a vampy vibe. I also threw on my favorite camel-toned hat from Target’s sale section to hide my sunburnt forehead.

DSC_8594

My next look could easily turn into my new favorite fall uniform. I was inspired by a classic white tee-shirt and striped cardigan street style look.

I threw a thick striped oversized cardigan over my little white dress and added my favorite thrifted BCBG belt to give my height-impaired frame some shape. The cardigan was given to me by a friend and my BCBG belt was found at Plato’s Closet for $7. I recently purchased these lacey looking tights from Target for $3, and I am pleasantly surprised by how durable they are. My fuzzy gray booties were found at Clothes Mentor for $11 and they might be the most comfortable heels on the planet!

DSC_8559

 

I had to add my favorite crystal ring by Gem Steady and my driftwood/crystal necklace by Adina Mills for some extra good vibes.

DSC_8562

DSC_8566

My third look is a total wild card, and it is loosely inspired by a futuristic neoprene outfit I found on Pinterest. Sometimes, you just wake up and say, “It’s a neoprene and hologram kind of day.” Okay, I may be the only person who has ever said that, but I dig this outfit and couldn’t resist.

DSC_8573

DSC_8575

I found this icy blue Kate Spade neoprene top on eBay for $18 and I am crazy about it. It added a lot of boxy structure to my little white dress. I threw on my favorite iridescent rainbow leggings that I got for just $4 on Urban’s website. For some sporty vibes, I included my thrifted Nike’s with hologram details. These beauties were found at Plato’s Closet for $15! For an extra dose of futuristic funkiness, I wore my Forever 21 silver cat-eye shades that were on sale for $5.

DSC_8574

 

I definitely turned a few heads at the park in this outfit. But that is okay! As long as you love the clothes on your back, that is all that matters. Style is about YOU and I definitely encourage everyone to try out the trends they love, even if they seem strange or intimidating.

DSC_8585

This outfit made me so happy, I literally jumped with joy! The little white dress will live on in my fall wardrobe and I hope you are inspired to reinvent your favorite summer staple too. Write your own fashion rules and always wear what you love. I will catch you all next time for more tips on how to recreate looks for way less!

Leave a comment