Style Star of the Week: Iyesha Jalloh

This week’s style star is a young woman I go to school with. We hang with a similar crowd, so I see her occasionally at different campus events. She may be petite, but her style packs a punch! Better yet, she’s driven, intelligent, and has a good head on her shoulders– and that will never be out of season. Keep reading and you’ll see exactly what I mean. Meet Iyesha…

dscf3259_1

Iyesha Jalloh
Sierra Leone born, Columbus, Ohio raised
Accounting Student

My personal style is a play on classic,  timeless pieces paired up with fun accessories and urban touches of chic. Crisp whites, pretty nudes, aquas and pastels will always find their way into my closet. I’ve always been obsessed with Nicole Richie’s style. My style inspos would definitely have to be a mix of Nicole richie, Kourtney Kardashian and Sex in the City’s, Carrie Bradshaw.

dscf2847

My dream job would probably be a role in which I could consult individuals in the areas of style, spirituality and finance. Interesting combination huh? Well, I’m passionate about all 3 of those things. I got saved in college during my sophomore year and since then, God has allowed me the opportunity to start a blog with my roommates. My three roommates and I were saved our freshmen year in college. We were set on fire for God and wanted to share our college experiences, wisdom, and love for him to help others. There are four aspects to the blog. We are each in charge of one section. Beauty, Lifestyle, Faith and Fashion. I’m in charge of the fashion portion. I can share fashion tips with the readers all while sharing advice on how I deal with a lot of the issues I face in my life spiritually through prayer and sacred time with God. So I guess, right now I’m kind of living out 2/3rds of my dream job in a way. Haha! I would love to be able to incorporate the finance side somehow. I’m very passionate about teaching financial literacy throughout our inner city communities. I’m currently studying accounting at the University of Cincinnati. It’s so important to me in making sure that young people, children and adults alike understand the importance of making your money work for you, through smart saving and investing strategies. Minorities hold about 2 trillion dollars of buying power in our current market. African-Americans make up about half of that. It’s important to begin to instill the right amount of understanding and financial discipline throughout our communities as early as possible for our future generations.

dsc_1338

In my spare time I write a lot. I spend a lot of time journaling. I also love trying new restaurants in the city. I’m a major foodie. My roommates always leave it up to me to pick dinner locations and such. I’m the kind of person who will go to a restaurant and order dinner by myself while sipping on a virgin mojito with my journal in hand.

Something most people don’t know about me is that I like to rap. It’s funny because a year ago I would never admitted this. I just do it for fun. I won’t be in any local cyphers or anything 😉

My life mantra would have to be: “In everything you do, do it as if you were working directly for the Lord himself.” I hope to give 110% in everything I do and in moments that I find myself disenchanted or unmotivated, I remind myself of who it is I’m doing it for. At the end of the day, it’s all about advancing his kingdom and spreading his love.

Blog: In Pursuit of Grace
Instagram: @eeshmcfendi
Youtube

Got Style? Or know someone who deserves to be featured? Email us at InexpensiveChic@Gmail.com with the subject line: Feature Me!

One thought on “Style Star of the Week: Iyesha Jalloh

Leave a Reply

