I Bought The Perfect 21st Birthday Dress For $12.99!

img_3026

On October 3rd, I turned 21. Leading up to the big day, my first thoughts were not “what will my first legal drink be,” but instead “what will I wear??” Let me just preface this post by saying, I am not a party girl. I’ve never had a fake ID,  and while I’ve had a few drinks here and there before my 21st (sshh), it was never something I partook in regularly. With that being said, I don’t really own any club dresses, or sexy party outfits. I see a lot of girls at my college who wear these skin tight bodycon dresses, and while it looks great on them, it’s just not for me! I don’t want everyone to see each and every curve, and all the bones in my body. But alas, this was my big birthday. I felt obligated to find a dress that was a little out of my comfort zone– something sexy, but still me.

I checked the typical stores that I thought would have what I was looking for: Forever21, H&M, Urban Outfitters, etc. Nothing. And then one day I happened to be in Union Square and walked past a Goodwill on my way to Nordstrom Rack. I made a mental note to swing back. With no luck at Nordstrom Rack, I was about ready to give up, but remembered to stop in Goodwill. I headed straight to the dress rack and flipped through stumbling upon this sparkly, black number. I checked for a tag that would tell me what size it was and didn’t see one. I went to try it on praying it would fit. It fit like a glove! Literally like it was made for me.

img_3034

Because there wasn’t a tag, I also didn’t know how much it was until I got to the register. Some of the other dresses on the rack were priced at $30-$40 (for Goodwill? Uh, no thank you). So imagine my relief when she told me it was $12.99. Now that is a STEAL.

What I like most about the dress is that it’s sexy, flattering, and I feel confident in it. I think the length of it, and the fact that it has sleeves makes it modest, but the low neck, tight fit, and sparkles make it fit for a night out. I couldn’t have asked for anything better. I feel like this dress embodies what this blog is about– looking good for less! Check out the images below for a few similar options you can purchase online. But if you really want to save some extra bucks, don’t be afraid to head to your local thrift store.

img_3029

All Photos taken by Yanping Nora Soong

Click to Shop Similar Options.

Leave a Reply

