Everyone Looks The Exact Same and It’s Pissing Me Off

I am all for a good trend, really, I am. But have we completely lost our sense of originality? Fashion is supposed to be fun, innovative, a statement of your personality and beliefs– not predictable. I have seen the same exact pieces in one day, on 50 different people walking to and from work alone on the streets of Manhattan. Here are the top five trends that everyone is wearing right now.

  1. The Blue and White Striped “New Take” on a Button Down
    Image Via SheIn.com
    Image Via SheIn.com

    Image Via Style-byjules.com
    Looks good from the back, but this HAS to look awkward from the front. I know, because I tried it. Image Via Style-byjules.com
  2. The Adidas Stan Smith Sneaker

    Image Via wheredidugethat.com
    You would think an outfit couldn’t be completed without them! Image Via wheredidugethat.com
  3. The Choker
    1. Bandana

      Image Via eonline.com
      I admit I like this trend… but again, it’s too overplayed now. Image Via eonline.com
    2. Leather String

      Whoever came up with this idea is actually a genius. "i know! Let's sell shoelaces and call it an accessory, and then charge an arm and a leg for it."
      Whoever came up with this idea is actually a genius. “i know! Let’s sell shoelaces and call it an accessory, and then charge an arm and a leg for it.”  Image Via Bisousnatasha.com
  4. Culotte Jumpsuit

    zendaya-coleman-solace-london-jumpsuit
    Ugh! So cute. Love Zendaya, but I’ve seen, it seen, it seen it, a million times before. Image Via FashionBombDaily.com
  5.  Off the Shoulder Top

    Image Via BeigeRenegade.com
    Image Via BeigeRenegade.com

Trends are important. We have fashion week, the media finds patterns within the designer collections, and then buyers for fast fashion stores can profit off of similar items to those o the runway. It’s a cycle that works. It has worked for a while.

Let me note, nothing is essentially wrong with any of these trends. I think they’re appealing, and I’d like to wear them myself, but the fact that everyone is wearing them, makes me less motivated to wear them. Kind of like that song on the radio that you loved the first and third time you heard it, but by the 50th time you hate it! I don’t like looking like everyone else, but apparently some people don’t mind. And that’s okay. This blog isn’t about putting people down. I’d just prefer to start trends, or stay away from them altogether.

Leave a Reply

