My First Week in NYC | A Review

As of Thursday, I’ve officially lived in New York City for a week. I still can’t believe I am here. In short… I am loving it! Keep reading to find out the ups and downs, what I’ve been up to, who I’ve met, and how I’m liking my internship.

PROS and CONS

PRO. There’s literally endless possibilities here. I feel like I could never run out of things to do, there will always be something new for me to see. This past week I’ve seen a broadway show, met one of my favorite celebrity stylists (June Ambrose, see video below), went shopping in soho, went to a comedy club, walked on the high line, ordered food via Uber Eats and Seamless, and visited Long Island. Tomorrow I’m going out to brunch with friends, and doing some shopping, and then going to Afropunk on Sunday. I still want to visit the major museums here, go to Chelsea market, and a whole bunch of other things. It’s hard to be bored here.

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

CON. This is something that’s never happened to me prior to coming to NYC… but weird liquids (water?) are always dripping from above, and I’ll be sprinkled with them whilst I walk. It’s bazaar. It’s not rain, I am hoping it’s not pee, Idk what it is… but it is very unsettling.

PRO. I really enjoy the other interns I work with. There’s about 15 of us total. We all come from different places including Venezuela, and France. Everyone is very chill and sweet. On my first day, the interns who had been there for a week already, were more than willing to help me out, show me the ropes, etc. I could definitely see us all hanging out outside of work. I want to try and put something together. I’ve also met a good group of friends at the all women’s dorm I am staying at. I was on my way to the dining hall for dinner when I received a compliment on my outfit. I ended up talking to the girl, asking her where she’s from, where she’s interning, etc. and she invited me to sit with her friends. There’s about 7 of us, and they all immediately adopted me into the family, invited me to hang out with them, etc. Then there’s also the group of girls who are interning here in the city from my fashion design class back at home. It’s nice to know I am not alone in the Big Apple. There’s always someone I can hang out with.

CON. It’s loud, dirty, and crowded in New York City. Shocker, I know. It doesn’t bother me consistently, but it’s every now and then, like when I am awoken by the sound of constant car horns beeping, or the varying stenches in a block’s walk, or having to walk in a zig zag pattern to navigate around stagnant people, that I am reminded of it.

PRO. I can walk to work. My job is about a 10 minute walk from where I live. I like not having to rely too heavily on the subway.

WORK LIFE

image via fashionista.com
image via fashionista.com

A lot has happened in one week. My first 4 days of work were in summary– long. As a reminder, I work at the fashion PR company, BPCM. The first day felt long because there wasn’t much for me to do. I think there are more interns than work to do. There’s so many of us! As part of the program we’re all assigned to an account executive who is in charge of a certain set of brands. When we haven’t been given a task from our supervisor, we are to help out our AE as much as we can. I hadn’t been assigned an AE until the end of the day on Monday.

The second day got a little bit more interesting. I helped in the sendout area, which is where we manage samples from our showroom that are being sent out to magazines for covers and editorials, or fashion stylists for the red carpet, etc. as well as manage samples that are being returned to us. It’s a hectic area to work in because there are messengers constantly coming in and out picking up garment bags or boxes, or delivering them. We keep track of everything in a system called FashionGPS, which is new to me, but a very useful tool. In addition on Tuesday, I helped my AE make pulls for clients, and did some basic organization in prep for NYFW.

Wednesday was extremely hectic because I worked the sendout area the entire work day. Since this is usually very hectic, I went to help the people who were assigned to work it, even though my shift wasn’t until later. I ended up staying back there the first and second half of the day because they really needed help.  I was so ready to go home after that!

Thursday wasn’t too bad, I did a mix of tasks, including setting up for a birthday party in the conference room. Apparently to celebrate the August birthdays in the office. There were chips, guacamole, and queso, 5 bottles of wine, as well as an icecream cake. After getting everything set up and ready, the interns were told we could have the leftovers if we wanted. About half and hour goes past, and we are told we could go in and help ourselves. There were literally crumbs left. All of the wine was knocked back, the bowls with dip were stacked. But it gets better… we were told to clean it all up. So we removed the dishes, cleaned them, threw away the trash, etc. Fun, fun. #internlife.

So far, I’ve gotten a glance at what fashion PR is like, but I still have a lot of questions. I am hoping we’ll be taught more about what the account executives do on a day-to-day basis. I know we have a project towards the end of the internship that we have to work on and present, so that should be interesting.

“HOME”

As I mentioned earlier, I live in an all women’s dorm style apartment. After looking into the whole temporary housing, without a broker, that is affordable, and not too far from my job, but is also safe, thing… my parents realized living here was my best bet. A couple of my classmates who interned here Spring semester last year, suggested it as well, so I’d heard a little about it. I live in a super tiny room with a sink, bookshelf, dresser, desk, closet, and twin sized bed. It’s very cozy, but it’s mine, and I don’t have to worry about a roommate. There are shared showers on the floor, as well as bathroom stalls, and a maid comes to make my bed and clean my room everyday. I’ve never lived in a dorm before, so I guess this is my way of getting the experience. Two meals a day are included in our rent. So during the work week, I’ll have breakfast and dinner, and order lunch at work. The downside is we aren’t allowed to have a refrigerator in our rooms, and we don’t have access to one in the building. So I can’t pack my lunch, or keep snacks that need refrigeration. The upside is it’s a super safe, and secure building, 24 hour security, etc. and is a short walk to work. They also host events here like “how to make bread” or “zumba class” as well as “movie nights.” The rooftop is unreal, and there are lots of great seating areas for guests, as well as TV rooms, and a garden. The food is just okay, but essentially it’s free, so I try to take advantage of eating in the dining hall as much as possible.

Overall my week here in New York has been amazing. I am so thankful to be here, and so happy that I am getting this experience for 4 months. I want to cherish it, and do and see as much as I can while I am here. It’s so nice to be on my own, making it in a city like this. It’s a great glimpse into the post-college adult life that is so quickly approaching.

If you have any questions for me about living in NYC or what my experience has been like, that I haven’t covered here… please ask away! Feel free to leave a comment below. If you’re not already, subscribe to this blog for more updates on my NYC life. Thanks for reading!!

P.S. I am still accepting donations to my GoFundMe. I’d love it if you could help support me by clicking here, either with a monetary donation, or a share across social media. I’m already halfway to my goal thanks to your help so far!

One thought on “My First Week in NYC | A Review

Leave a Reply

