The Lipstick Challenge

One of my contributing writers, Melissa, found something called “The Lipstick Challenge” on another blog, and thought it would be fun if we participated. Each day, contributing writers Brandi, Laura, and Melissa wore a different lipstick according to a theme.

Monday | Cheapie

Goal: Wear an inexpensive lipstick that you love.

unnamed-2

 

Lipstick: Rimmel London, Bordeaux

Outfit: White T-Shirt crop with Pleather circle skirt

Review: It didn’t stay on well during lunch time. It also wasn’t creamy and smooth going on.

-Laura

 

 

 

 

day1 copy

 

Lipstick: NYX Extra Creamy Round Lipstick in Violet Ray

NYX has a huge array of lipstick color choices, so it was by chance that I stumbled upon Violet Ray. This is an amazing purple shade that isn’t so dark that is skews goth, but is still what I would call a true purple. The Extra Creamy formula is also really great, because while it looks really dark in the tube, it is actually fairly sheer and only becomes dark with layers.

-Melissa

 

Tuesday | Nude OR Most Moisturizing

brandi

I Used my light nude lipstick for class. It Kind of adds a pinkish tint but I wore this to have some type of moisture on my lips for the day since I didn’t wear makeup.

-Brandi

 

 

 

 

unnamed-3Lipstick: Ciate London Liquid Velvet, Swoon

Outfit: Camo Shirt and black yoga pants

Review: It’s a liquid matte lipstick, so it super smooth and creamy going on.  It does tend to get a little clumpy if you apply it after layers have dried. Really long-lasting, when applying be careful with the wand. It is forgiving for the most part, but be sure to clean edges up.

-Laura

 

 

day3 copy

 

Lipstick: Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Coy

I am a HUGE fan of Revlon Balm Stains, so when I was looking for an updated 90s-esque brown lipstick that was the first place I checked. The rose tone of the brown keeps it from going to retro, as well as the lacquer finish. This formula is amazing for all day wear because it is super light and hydrating, as the “balm” name suggests.

-Melissa

 

On Wednesday’s We Wear Pink

Brandi3

On Wednesday I decided to wear a plum/ pink colored lipstick. I love this lipstick because it has a gloss to it which is good when you want to add some color but don’t want to put on a full face or matte lipstick.

 

 

 

 

unnamed-4

Lipstick: Maybelline Color Sensational, Party Pink

Outfit: White T-Shirt with light washed destroyed skinny jeans and dark washed bomber jacket

Review: One swipe was nice, but two was better. It did a nice job with layering and it had a nice feel. It didn’t stay on, but my lips were a bit stained from it so it looked fine.

 

 

 

 

day2

Lipstick: Revlon Colorburst Balm Stain in Smitten

This Revlon Balm Stain is in the original (non-lacquer) formula. As I said earlier, the Balm Stains are amazingly hydrating, my only problem with this formula is it tends to fade fairly quickly. This shade is great because the pink color is very saturated without going neon or pepto-bismol pink.

 

 

 

Thursday | Treat Yo ‘Self (Wear a Lipstick You Splurged on) OR a Long Lasting Lipstick

Brandi2

 

Red lipstick on Thursday. Goes perfectly with my flannel. I had class all day and a lot of running around to do but didn’t want to feel like a slob so I put myself together. What I love about this red lipstick is that it has an orangish tint to it.

 

 

 

unnamed-5

Lipstick: Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Pur Couture, Rouge Scandal

Outfit: Black ribbed crop with destroyed black skinny jeans.

Review:Like the guy at Sephora said “it’s the Cadillac of lipsticks”. Goes on really smoothly, it darkens layer after layer, it smells nice on, it’s amazing.

 

 

 

 

day 4 copy

Lipstick: Sonia Kashuk Velvety Matte Lip Crayon in Poppy Nude

This color really does last all day. It is super bright, matte, and lasted very well without reapplication through meals! I only reapplied it later that night when it seemed to finally be losing it’s tone. This is a great shade that can brighten up any outfit without adding any more complications to your day.

 

Friday | Wear Your Absolute Favorite Shade of All Time

 

unnamed-6

Lipstick: Buxom Big and Sexy Bold Gel Lipstick, Vampy Plum

Outfit: White venture top with black easy jeans (I had to go to work…the look is all American Apparel)

Review: So I have a different favorite lipstick, but the two I had in mind are sitting in my purse in a friend’s room. I tried this on at Sephora when I got the YSL lipstick. It’s a super pretty color, I just didn’t realized how it pigments specific sections of lips. It’s a really nice matte, it just hard to control the distribution of gel. I need to try it out a few more times and get comfortable with it. But it’s really cool and creamy! Also I felt like a goth
person/a vampire. For more pictures of me doing the lipstick challenge check out my IG: @l_r_gee

day 5 copy

Lipstick: Burt’s Bees Lip Crayon in Redwood Forest

This Burt’s Bees Lip Crayon is my favorite because I can swipe it on with no thought. In it’s crayon form, it is basically just like applying any of Burt’s Bees other super-hydrating chapsticks. It’s hydrating, with natural shine, and very well pigmented. I love this color in particular because while it is a red, it has a somewhat brown tone to it that makes the red skew almost towards a neutral color. When worn with another red or a contrasting color, it appears more red, and at other times it looks almost like a brown. Redwood Forest is basically a natural, low-key red that works with any look.

Looking good ladies! If you take part in this challenge on your blog, be sure to leave a comment  with a link!

One thought on “The Lipstick Challenge

Leave a Reply

