The Look For Less: New York Fashion Week

Hello lovely readers of Inexpensive Chic! I am back for another round of the look for less. If you are a total fashion fanatic like me, then I am sure you have noticed all of the incredible fashion shows that have been taking place over the past few weeks. With all of the gorgeous runway and behind the scenes images plaguing my Instagram, Twitter and Facebook pages, I was determined to create a look that reflected my favorite shows.

Inspiration from the Lela Rose runway show.
Inspiration from the Lela Rose runway show.
Inspiration from the Christopher Kane runway show.
Inspiration from the Christopher Kane runway show.

I was heavily inspired by the sheer fabrics and bright pops of color from the Christopher Kane and Lela Rose collections. I had very little luck finding affordable pieces that mimicked the organza perfection demonstrated at my favorite shows. Luckily, I found a darling sheer floral dress from Clothes Mentor that had neon floral cutouts pasted all over the bodice. To give the dress more of a transparent effect, I decided to whip out my scissors and trim a few inches off of the lining.

12092457_10205133880455272_209634586_n

My breezy Vera Wang dress was purchased at the Anderson Clothes Mentor for $11. The punchy floral cutouts really pop against the gray chiffon-esque fabric. I spotted two additional trends at NYFW that I am completely obsessed with and I decided to add little hints of these trends into my look. There were at least 50 shades of gray spotted on the runways of NYFW and there was no shortage of vampy lace either.

12081363_10205133886975435_574178133_n

My black lace crop top was found in Target’s clearance section for just $4, and my suede Levi’s motorcycle jacket was discovered at the Anderson Clothes Mentor for $16. I have been rocking this motorcycle jacket quite a bit lately.

12087362_10205133893055587_1456332417_n

On my feet you will find a pair of of faux fur gray booties that came from the Anderson Clothes Mentor. Clearly I cannot get enough of that store! My favorite croc-detailed belt comes from Plato’s Closet and my vintage handbag was gifted to me by a sweet friend.

Overall, it was quite difficult to find affordable pieces that mimicked my favorite Spring 2016 fashion shows, but searching for similar pieces was a lot of fun. Never be afraid to use your imagination when you are trying to achieve a certain look on a budget. I have transformed many pieces in my closet by chopping off lining to create a sheer look. A little DIY can go a long way!

Thank you all so much for reading, and stay tuned for my next post where I recreate more looks for way less!

Leave a Reply

