The 10 Colors Everyone Will be Wearing This Season

Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 4.50.58 PM“This season displays an umbrella of accord that weaves earthy neutrals with a range of bold color statements and patterns to reflect a landscape of hope, fun, fantasy and all things natural.”

At first glance of this palette, I was confused. The first five colors have cohesion, but the last five hues do not ring consistent. I don’t know if it’s just me or not, but those last five colors remind me more of spring or summer, not fall. After listening to Lee Eiseman talk about the fall collection it made sense.

Eiseman along with a whole team of color experts chose the hues of each palette. If you listen to her talk she notes how this season is the first ever palette to be gender free, meaning every single color is applicable to anyone and everyone. She also vividly persuades viewers why the more unusual colors do fit.

After listening to her I was almost  convinced. A few days later I came across the Burberry fall collection where I began to see the palette, outcast colors included, make sense for fall.

Once the fall palette finally clicked into place, I began to recognize it in many collections. From Chanel to Burberry, American Apparel to even Forever 21, the colors were there. American Apparel and Forever 21 did a more prominent take on the colors. Their designs utilize solid colored fabric in hues from the palette. But Chanel’s line is something extraordinary.

Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 1.07.50 PMScreen Shot 2015-08-20 at 1.07.29 PMBurberry Fall 2015Screen Shot 2015-08-17 at 10.41.00 PM

American Apparel 

Screen Shot 2015-08-17 at 10.48.54 PM

Forever 21

During the spring I watched the Chanel ready-to-wear video on Youtube. The designs were typical Chanel, the fabric was typical fabric; the line was fine. But after looking deeply into the Pantone fall palette, I can tell you for a fact the Karl Lagerfeld is ingenious.

The line uses the palette in a very subdued manner. The fabrics immerse the hues into the weaving or into the pattern.  By doing this and keeping the designs classic Chanel, the item still looks timeless.

Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 1.08.42 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 1.09.26 PM

If you couldn’t tell by now I love this Chanel line. I would absolutely love to purchase a look from this year’s ready-to-wear collection, but I can’t. I am a poor college student living off of a budget. “Designer” really isn’t in my vocabulary right now. Neither is “purchasing shirts in every single fall Pantone color”.

Instead I might try sprucing up an old outfit with an accessory in a fall color.

Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 1.13.30 PMScreen Shot 2015-08-20 at 1.22.32 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 1.21.39 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 1.20.20 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 1.17.59 PM

One thought on “The 10 Colors Everyone Will be Wearing This Season

  1. I love this Pantone report every year. It’s intriguing to see how it plays out and who sticks to the predictions. I, personally, love that this is gender neutral and yet, everything could clearly be flattering and feminine. I hope to see a lot of great cuts and shapes for women to make some of the more “gender neutral” colors feel more feminine. This will be exciting!

Leave a Reply

