The Look For Less: Ashley Olsen

Hello lovely readers of Inexpensive Chic! My name is Brittany (your newest contributing writer to Inexpensive Chic), and I am here to show you how to recreate your favorite street style and runway looks without spending a lot of cash. You may think this sounds too good to be true, but I have found that unconventional styles of shopping can make your dollar go a long way.

I have never been much of a mall shopper. I prefer to spend my days digging through boxes of clothing cast-offs at vintage shops, and rifling through the racks at thrift stores. Thrifting can be hard work. But as we all know, hard work can pay off big time.

Today I would like to share a look from Ashley Olsen that I recreated with pieces found in my own closet. I have been a major MK&A fan since the ripe old age of five, and I personally love their boho-glam style.

main.original.585x0In the photo, we see Ashley sporting a classic light-blue button up, low-rise black skinnies, oversized shades, and strappy brown-leather sandals. This look is simple, and it makes a great outfit for those chilly fall days on campus.

DSC_8324

Even outfits that are simple can pack a big price tag punch. Just Ashley’s Ray-Ban’s tack on $155 to this look. I created my complete look for under $40. I scored these chic cat-eye frames from Urban Outfitters for six bucks. My button up is from Target, and while it may be a thicker fabric than Ashley’s making it more difficult to roll up the sleeves, it was a mere $11.

I prefer high-waisted pants on my body, and I got these cute sailor inspired skinnies for $16 on Forever 21’s website. You have to love those extra 40% off sales!

DSC_8321unnamedThe rest of my outfit was completely free. My watch came from a clothing swap, my Michael Kors sandals were given to me by my aunt, and my giant crystal ring was given to me by a friend.

Clothing swaps are one of my favorite ways to score new items without spending a penny. It is environmentally friendly, and it is a great way to give unwanted pieces in your closet a new home. The next time you have the urge to shop, but are on a tight budget, gather your stylish friends and host a clothing and accessory swap party!

Thank you all so much for reading, and stay tuned for my next post where I recreate another super stylish look for way less! Also, feel free to comment below what celeb look you’d like me to recreate in the near future!

One thought on “The Look For Less: Ashley Olsen

Leave a Reply

