Women in White

My mom and dad are those people who have super crazy obsessions. You know, like the people who are obsessed with cars or football or horses. Well they’re obsessed with tennis.

When I was little they used to strongly encourage (more like force, but ehh) my brother, my sister and myself to play tennis. Ultimately I stopped my tennis career at the age of twelve (-ish), but my brother and sister’s continued. Both played in high school. My brother hated it and my sister was only in it for the tennis outfits.

I do have to say, in more recent years, I have come to somewhat like tennis. It’s not too bad, but I do have to say it’s not my favorite thing. What I really like about tennis: the fashion.

Within the past few days Wimbledon, one of tennis’s grand slam events, has come to an end. Wimbledon is considered to be tennis’s most prestigious events. Matches are played on grass courts at the All England Club, in London.

I’m speaking to you about Wimbledon not just because it has recently ended, but because of a special rule. Each year players come to this event with their best white outfit, to try to claim the trophy. Yup, that’s right; the special rule is players are only allowed to wear white with minimal distractions.

image via edition.cnn.com
image via edition.cnn.com

 

This rule is overlooked by the masses. But if you look at this from a fashion standpoint, this one rule that seems so insignificant, dictates a great deal of the design.

Each year when celebrities walk the red carpet, you’ll probably spot a similar design as one from the year before but in a different color. Changes in color can drastically change a design or even the addition of embroidery or precious gems or even rhinestones. My point being the overall design of a dress: the neckline, length, bodice, etc. can all stay the same, but with an addition of any of the items listed in the previous sentence, you can create a completely different dress.

For those who design the outfits for this event they are forced to stick to the basics. Interestingly enough the same brand: Nike, Adidas, Fila, etc. sponsor multiple players at once and most players’ outfits differ.

I find it fascinating how Maria Sharapova’s outfit can differ from Serena William’s outfit which can them differ from Eugenie Bouchard. Little changes in strap thickness, tightness of the skirt, or change in fabric alter the design. The design teams of these athletic wear companies deserve a great amount of applause; the designs from year to year change and that is a feat.

When I get stuck on a design, I put myself in a Wimbledon designer’s shoes: I take out all color and adornment. I focus only on the design. It pushes your imagination to the limits and tests the fabric’s cooperation. It’s really hard, but in the end the design is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

