The Workout Everyone Should Try

Screen Shot 2015-07-06 at 10.28.07 PMLately, there’s been a huge health craze going around. It’s trendy to be strong and good to your body. I hope it’s a lasting trend, because it works as an extremely positive response to the anorexia and bulimia epidemic. If you’re anything like me, figuring out a good work out routine is challenging, in a word. I’m not coordinated, I never have been. My parents had me try every sport as a kid to see if there was absolutely anything I could do. Soccer, softball, volleyball, tae kwon do, gymnastics, basketball, dancing, you name it: I was always the one getting the “most improved” awards by the end of the season.

For a long time I wondered how I was going to keep in shape when I was at college when just balancing school and friends was difficult. Just for fun, my friends and I signed up for a boxing class. I was amazed at how much I loved it (and still do). It was by far, the most challenging and gratifying work out I’ve ever done.

First off, having someone teach you and train you while working out is motivating and intimidating. As strange as it seems, when I’m intimidated I want to do my best… which is perfect for when working out. First the instructor has you do a few stretches before you start working out. Then the hard part comes, circuit workouts in three to four minute rotations. There are several exercises you can do in these rotations, but there are usually four or five separate ones. Typically among these exercises are lunge walks, four way sit-ups, crunches, squats, burpees, etc. The important thing about these workouts is the fact that the breaks between each rotation are only about ten seconds long. You can also warm up your body by going in rotations of doing ten, twenty, thirty push-ups, crunches, squats, etc. for about fifteen minutes. This gets your blood pumping and is really good for you, too. Then usually you do one on one time with your instructor, at first it starts with learning how to punch properly and then transgresses to punching as hard and fast as you can. There’s always a challenging exercise near the end of a boxing workout, such as punching a bag quickly for forty five seconds and then doing twenty push ups, back and forth. The workout ends with a minute or so long plank (which seems like forever).

May I remind you that in no way am I a boxer because I take a boxing class. I have never been in the ring with anyone, I’m not sure that I ever will, and the only time I’ve actually punched someone is when they’re holding a giant mat. I’m not built like a boxer, my arms are like noodles, but this shouldn’t distract from the fact that this is a great workout that though difficult, anyone can do simply for self-improvement. It’s a quick and energetic exercise that can really be therapeutic. You can take your stress and problems out during this workout because you literally have a punching bag. Not only can boxing get you in shape, but also make you stronger. Even the Victoria’s Secret models do this activity to stay in shape. Honestly, I’d recommend boxing as a work out to everyone.

One thought on “The Workout Everyone Should Try

Leave a Reply

