Get to Know the New Team of Contributing Writers!

As you may or may not know, I recently sent out a call for fashion and beauty enthusiasts with a desire to write. I received a handful of responses, but ultimately chose the four lovely ladies you see below. You can find a brief bio of each girl on the Contributing Writer’s page, but this post is dedicated to getting to know them a little bit deeper. I can’t wait to go on this journey with them, and for you, our readers to view the amazing content that is in store for you!

Just a few NEW things you can look forward to this summer on InexpensiveChic.com 

  • Youtube Videos!
  • Personal Essays!
  • More Fashion DIYs!
  • More Beauty Posts!
  • Interviews!
  • Lifestyle! (food, exercise, decor)

Meet Mackenzie Mahon

How would you describe your style? My sense of style is inspired by anything grunge that really catches my eye. A lot of the time musicians inspire my style.

What beauty item could you never leave the house without?  I never leave my house without my favorite mascara, Yes They’re Real by Benefit. It’s a bit ridiculous but I don’t like using anything else.

What’s your favorite season? My favorite season has to be fall because the humidity goes away (which my hair loves), it’s very pretty, and really easy to accessorize with my style in the fall.

What’s something about you most people don’t know?  Something about me most people don’t know is that I model.

What are you favorite books? Atonement, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, and Alias Grace.

Who are your favorite musical artists? My favorite artists are The Strokes, Temples, Tame Impala, alt-J, Marina and the Diamonds, Childish Gambino.

Give us one more fun fact. London is my favorite city!

Meet Autumn Stackhouse

Who inspires you sense of style the most? Fran Drescher’s character Nanny Fine on The Nanny.

Where is your favorite place to shop? Goodwill.

What’s your all-time favorite book? My favorite book is For Colored Girls.

Who have you been listening to recently? At the moment, my favorite music artists are Kanye West, SZA and Noname Gypsy.

Give us one more fun fact. I write poetry and I enjoy painting.

Meet Laura Gee

Who inspires your style the most? I find street style very inspiring.

What are your go-to fashion pieces?  For my lazy side: leggings. For my stylish/fancy side: denim circle skirt.

What’s your favorite season? I LOVE Autumn because the trees are really pretty. But mostly because I can wear shorts with sweaters and I don’t get funny looks..

What’s something about you most people don’t know? I have a couple little tattoos.

What’s your favorite movie? My favorite movie is The D.U.F.F.

Who do you listen to the most? I love 5 Seconds of Summer, One Direction, Passion Pitt, Bleachers, and a lot more– I really love music.

Give us one more fun fact. I have traveled to France, England, Puerto Rico, and China. They’re all super awesome!

Meet Brandi Kelly

What beauty item would you never leave the house without? I would never leave home without my tinted lip balm.

Where is your favorite place to shop? I love to mix and match different styles and prices so I don’t exactly have a favorite place to shop.

Which is your favorite season? Favorite season is Fall. I believe that I dress the best during this season and love wearing fall colors. I can be comfortable and stylish at the same time.

What’s something most people don’t know about you? Most people don’t know that I am afraid of caterpillars.

One more fun fact? I am obsessed with movies. I’ve seen far too many. Same goes for music, I can go from listening to Drake to listening to Florence and the Machine.

Meet Melissa Ewart

Who inspires your style the most? My style inspirations are constantly changing, but right now I’m really inspired by Emma Watson, Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, and Julianne Moore.

What beauty item do you never leave the house without? I never leave the house without Neutrogena Healthy Volume Mascara. It’s great at volumizing and lengthening lashes without clumping or hardening.

What’s something about yourself most people don’t know? I have a Bichpoo named Chloe who I am obsessed with.

What are your favorite books? Movies? My favorite books are the Harry Potter series, I’m a little bit of a fanatic. Some of my favorite movies are Marie Antoinette, Tiitanic, Mockingjay, and The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

What kind of music do you listen to? My favorite musicians are Ed Sheeran, Lorde, and Birdy.

Give us one more fun fact. I’m currently interning at M2057 by Maria Pinto.

Meet Arianna Quinn

What beauty product could you never leave the house without? Never will I ever leave my house without my Mary Kay lip lacquer in the color Chai Tea Latte. It’s amazing.

What’s something about yourself most people don’t know? Most people don’t know that I am extremely hard on myself when it comes to almost everything and that I also work better under pressure and stress–some of my best artwork and writing pieces come from being under immense pressure.

What do you like to read? My favorite books are It by Alexa Chung, Champagne Supernovas by Maureen Callahan, Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen, and Influence by Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, just to name a handful.

What are your all-time favorite movies? I would have to say Roman Holiday, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Pretty in Pink, The Outsiders, The Devil Wears Prada, Ocean’s Eleven, Grease, and Marie Antoinette take the cake. I am obsessed with action films (Marvel especially), childhood movie favs like HSM, Finding Nemo, and Hercules, and anything directed by Tim Burton or Henry Selick. I am also a sucker for cheesy romance, holiday movies, and old, black and white films.

Give us one more fun fact. I really want to travel the Middle East and Africa at some point in my life (and India). And I am currently learning French, Italian, Dutch, German, and Swedish. I am quite nomadic, rootless if you will, and I find myself wanting to just travel and move around constantly.


Do you want to see yourself added to the contributing writer’s page? Do you have a passion for fashion and beauty, and have something to say about it? Email us at InexpensiveChic@gmail.com with 3 reasons why we should add you to the team!

2 thoughts on “Get to Know the New Team of Contributing Writers!

Leave a Reply

