Notes On My Personal Style

my style brilliant earth
*click to enlarge*

Every now and then I like to take a step back and look at how I’ve been dressing over a period of time. We often get so caught up in the day-to-day that we forget the big picture. I created this mood board in an effort to map what my personal style looks like.

If I had to choose a couple of words to describe my way of dressing, I’d have to choose “minimalistic” and “feminine.” For whatever reason, I gravitate towards boring colors like black, white and grey. If I’m feeling adventurous I’ll go for a blue or purple. With that in mind, I look for what’s in the details. Yes, I may choose a cream sweater… but did you notice the leather patches on the shoulder? The zipper detailing? The little things make a big difference to me. It keeps the outfit from being boring and instead makes it unexpected. I’m drawn to texture, cut, and pattern but I look to use it in subtle ways.

Solange Knowles is a style icon of mine because she’s not afraid to be bold with her outfits. You’ll often see her in head to toe print and clashing colors. Sometimes I look to her when I want to get out of my box. Olivia Palermo is another style influence. The way she dresses is always chic, sophisticated, classy, but never plain. Lastly, Alexa Chung. Although I love feminine cuts and prints, sometimes it’s fun to throw on high top sneakers and harem pants with an oversized sweater. She’s a master at the boyish look.

What’s your personal style like? Describe it below!

*This post is in collaboration with Brilliant Earth’s Personality Style Challenge

Leave a Reply

