7 Days of Summer Fashion

Don’t know what to wear? It’s ok, we all ask ourselves that question at some point! We often have a closet full of clothes, but get stylist’s block (I just made that up! Get it, like writer’s block? Haha). Whenever I have that problem, I turn to fashion magazines, my collages, Pinterest,etc. for inspiration. Below are some ideas for how to reinvent pieces most of you will already have in your summer wardrobe. Let this post (and others on Inexpensive Chic) be your source for summer outfit inspiration! 

Sunday

Necklace/Hautelook  Vest/H&M  Romper/Forever21  Sandals/Asos  Sunglasses/H&M

Sundays are your day to relax, your outfit should reflect that. By throwing on a romper you won’t even have to think much about the rest of your outfit. For the most basic way to wear a romper, just add cute sandals. If you want to dress it up a bit more, try a statement necklace and a denim vest as well.

Monday

Top/Jane Norman  Jeans/Urban Outfitters  Necklace/Dorothy Perkins  

Sometimes I forget that it’s okay to wear jeans in the summer, especially on windier days. Instead of skinny jeans, why not go for colored wide leg jeans? They will stand out, and are the perfect excuse to wear wedges or platforms with! Pair them with a flowy, printed top for a slight bohemian feel.

Tuesday

Bandeau 1&3/Tillys  Bandeau 2/Farfetch  Skirt/Forever21  Jacket/H&M  Cardigan/Modcloth

I’ve been seeing this trend a lot lately: Pairing a bandeau with a high-waisted skirt and a jacket of some sort overtop. I like the idea of showing a sliver of your stomach; it’s a modern take on the belly shirt. Go crazy with the bandeaus if I were you, don’t just get one in one color. Try a printed one, solid, black, lace, neon, etc. not only are they fun to wear with high-waisted skirts (or shorts) but also underneath sheer/crochet/ tops or dresses.

Wednesday

Tank Top/Victoria’s Secret  Lace Shorts/ Sammydress  Boots/DSW  Clutch/Zara  Earrings/Swell   Belt/Lodis

I found a really cute pair of high-waisted lace shorts at TjMaxx the other day, but when I went to try them on I found out the zipper was broken. At first I didn’t mind and figured it’d be an easy fix, but apparently it can cost around $10 to fix a broken zipper. I had to ask myself, Is it worth it? Ultimately, I decided not to purchase them, and not I am on the hunt for another pair! I like the idea of pairing lace shorts with a graphic t-shirt, adding a belt for a pop of color and throwing on a pair of fancy earrings.

Thursday

Top/Sheinside  Shorts/Monki  Sandals/H&M  Bracelets/Madewell  Hat/Urban Outfitters  Belt/Madewell

How funky are those shorts?! They’re probably pretty simply to DIY, I am guessing all you’d need a pair of thrift store mom jeans, scissors, bleach and some stencils. Whether you buy them, or make them yourself, I’d suggest keeping the rest of the outfit simplistic. Try a loose t-shirt, braided sandals and a bowler hat.

Friday 

Blazer/Forever21   Top/Forever21   Sneakers/Madewell  Bracelet/Oasis-Stores  Shorts/Zara

Another item I am on the lookout for this summer: a white tuxedo blazer. As you know, white is a prominent color for the summer and a blazer like this one is oh-so-sophisticated!  Play around with that sophistication by adding element of fun throughout the outfit –like these shorts for example with a peak of neon in the pocket lining; and those printed sneakers for instance!

Saturday

Skirt/Calypso St Barth  Platforms/Kohl’s  Bangles/J Crew  Top/BE

This maxi skirt is a dream! Pull out your inner country girl with a tied button down denim shirt. I could see this outfit being worn to a summer festival. To avoid looking too sweet, why not try a dark lipstick shade like the model above? If you do try that, go easy on the jewelry and accessories.

I want to know which look is your favorite. Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

