Asymmetrical

 

After looking through some fashion books for inspiration on what to wear, I decided I wanted to try layering a shirt over a dress to make the dress look like a skirt. I wanted a dress that had a cool print on the bottom since that’s the part that would be showing. So I chose this dress which is from TjMaxx. What’s really neat about this dress is that there are buttons underneath the hemline so you can adjust the length and amount of ruching. After playing around with the buttons for a while I got an idea: Why don’t I create an asymmetrical hemline? I could button the front up as far as it would go and leave the back unbuttoned. So once I figured that out and loved the way it looked, it was time for accessories!

I knew I wanted a belt. A wide one seemed to pull everything together more, but I didn’t have a wide belt that went with the color scheme I wanted. So then I tried a few thin belts, but something was always missing… At one point I tried on two different belts at the same time to compare them, but I ended up liking both of them together and just left it.

After that, the rest kind of came naturally. This outfit was a lot more complicated to put together than I originally planned, but I think it was worth it. What do you think? Leave your honest feedback below.

Both Belts: Charlotte Russe
Shoes: Nordstrom
Top: Old Navy
Bracelet: Bass

Leave a Reply

